Live Life Fully

Here’s my second quote as part of the Three Quotes Challenge! I’ve loved this quote since early high school.

To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.

-Oscar Wilde

iiqo3fjkdt0dq4cafktnpkjskfcugba3ebruqaoosik7ix4j6a9firthvwz5njyr-f

The quote really resonated with me  because I felt like I was just going through the motions of life. As an imaginative and romantic teenager, I wished for more experiences than just the monotony of school. But funny thing is, I barely did anything about my “lack of living.” I mostly just wrote sporadically on my blog at the time, participated in extracurriculars that didn’t always excite me, and studied. Only now have I really been trying to live life to the fullest, instead of becoming sucked into monotonous habits. I’m taking baby steps, like scheduling a meal, going on a one day trip, or joining a club. But these little things have allowed me to laugh a little more, meet great people, and feel excited about the opportunities in this world.

If you’re experiencing something similar to what I did, remember that life is what you make of it. Yes, there are responsibilities and obligations that you may not enjoy but are required to do. There are exertions toward future success that cause stress and exhaustion, slowly biting away at your soul. But the rest of that extra time spent just lounging in the house and watching netflix is yours. You can schedule a random road trip, explore the outskirts of your neighborhood, begin a hobby that makes you happy, give to the surrounding community.

You don’t have to be chained by your habits and fears. Your life is in your hands. So instead of feeling unfulfilled, find something that gives you fulfillment. Instead of fearing rejection, talk to that guy/girl.

Instead of simply existing, live.

Let me know in the comments something on your bucket list that you’d love to check off.

Also, more creative writing is in the making. Midterms had me swamped and busy/stress is definitely not conducive to creativity. But I’m trying to allot some time out of my week for you guys.  🙂

Leave a Reply

