Love Me Softly

rose

Darling, will you

unfold me for a little while

and caress these pages in your hands?

Will you

love me softly,

reveal my faults

slowly,

unleash my demons

gradually,

Love me steadily,

never surprised

but constantly amazed,

rhythmic wonder

syncing

the beats of our hearts.

Will you

let me love you–

Careful, at first,

remembering that you

are human too,

Gently, so

love becomes a continuum,

Softly, until

you become a constant,

so familiar yet so foreign.

Let me unfold your pages,

see spaces between

the ink,

laughter in every

crevice,

and words

that roll off my tongue

like sweet

agave nectar

that drips

softly,

 

steadily,

 

constantly

 

to you.

 


An updated version of my Love Me Softly poem, that was written this past summer!

Hope you guys like it. Let me know in the comments what you thought about the length and fluidity, and any stories that you may have regarding love, friendship, etc.

6 thoughts on “Love Me Softly

Leave a Reply

